Theology Faculty Members List

Oxford skyline


There are more than 100 members of the Faculty, some of whom hold University and college posts, and some college-only posts. Use the filters below to browse our directory.

The following are Professors or Lecturers:

View Faculty Members (or view Administrative staff):
By Subject | University Professors & Lecturers | Senior Positions of Responsibility | Show All

Dr Sarah Apetrei

Keble College
Departmental Lecturer in Ecclesiastical History
Schools Liaison Officer
Phone:
01865 270763
Email: sarah.apetrei@theology.ox.ac.uk
schools.liaison@theology.ox.ac.uk

Prof. John Barton

Oriel College
Oriel and Laing Professor of the Interpretation of the Holy Scripture
Phone: 01865 276537
Email: john.barton@theology.ox.ac.uk

Prof. Nigel Biggar

Christ Church
Regius Professor of Moral and Pastoral Theology
Phone:
01865 276219
Email: nigel.biggar@theology.ox.ac.uk

Prof. Markus Bockmuehl

Keble College
University Lecturer in New Testament
Phone:
01865 272791
Email: markus.bockmuehl@theology.ox.ac.uk

Dr Phil Booth

Faculty of Theology and Religion
A. G. Leventis Lecturer in Eastern Christianity
Email: philip.booth@theology.ox.ac.uk
Phone: 01865 274716

Dr Benjamin Edsall

Keble College
Departmental Lecturer in New Testament
Phone:  01865 280084
Email: ben.edsall@theology.ox.ac.uk

Dr Mark Edwards

Christ Church
Associate Professor in Patristics
Phone: 01865 276216
Email: mark.edwards@theology.ox.ac.uk

Prof. Sarah Foot

Christ Church
Regius Professor of Ecclesiastical History
Phone: 01865 286078
Email:  sarah.foot@theology.ox.ac.uk

Dr Courtney Friesen

Keble College
Greek Instructor
Phone:  01865 274710
Email: courtney.friesen@theology.ox.ac.uk

Prof. Susan Gillingham

Worcester College
Associate Professor
Phone: 01865 278359
Email: susan.gillingham@theology.ox.ac.uk

Prof. Sondra Hausner

St Peter's College
Associate Professor in Study of Religion
Phone:
Email: sondra.hausner@theology.ox.ac.uk

Prof. Joshua Hordern

Harris Manchester College 
Associate Professor of Christian Ethics
Coordinator of the Postgraduate Diploma in Theology
Phone:
01865 281479
Email: joshua.hordern@theology.ox.ac.uk

Prof. Justin Jones

Pembroke College
Associate Professor in Study of Religion
Phone:
Email: justin.jones@theology.ox.ac.uk

Prof. Brian Leftow

Oriel College
Nolloth Professor of the Philosophy of the Christian Religion
Phone: 01865 276590
Email: brian.leftow@oriel.ox.ac.uk

Prof. David Lincicum

Mansfield College
Associate Professor in New Testament Studies
Phone: 01865 270999
Email: david.lincicum@theology.ox.ac.uk

Prof. Diarmaid MacCulloch

St Cross College
University Lecturer
Phone: 01865 270794
Email: diarmaid.macculloch@theology.ox.ac.uk

Dr Mary Marshall

Departmental Lecturer in New Testament
Phone: 01865 274547
Email: mary.marshall@theology.ox.ac.uk

Prof. Alister McGrath

Harris Manchester
Andreas Idreos Professor of Science and Religion
Phone:

Email: alister.mcgrath@hmc.ox.ac.uk

Prof. Joel Rasmussen

Mansfield College
Associate Professor in Nineteenth-Century Christian Thought
Phone: 01865 282917
Email: joel.rasmussen@theology.ox.ac.uk

Prof. Christopher Rowland

The Queen's College
Dean Ireland's Professor of Exegesis of Holy Scripture
Phone: 01865 279168
Email: christopher.rowland@theology.ox.ac.uk

Prof. Katherine Southwood

St. John's College
Associate Professor
Phone: 01865 277394
Email: katherine.southwood@theology.ox.ac.uk

Professor Graham Ward

Christ Church
Regius Professor of Divinity
Phone:
Email: graham.ward@theology.ox.ac.uk

Dr Jan Westerhoff

Lady Margaret Hall
Associate Professor in Religious Ethics
Phone: 01865 274261
Email: jan.westerhoff@theology.ox.ac.uk

 

 

 

Prof. William Wood

Oriel College
CUF Lecturer
Phone: 01865 276285
Email: william.wood@theology.ox.ac.uk

Prof. Johannes Zachhuber

Trinity College
Reader in Theology
Phone: 01865 279882
Email: chairman@theology.ox.ac.uk
johannes.zachhuber@theology.ox.ac.uk


 

contact us »

General enquiries, including enquiries about the Faculty's annual Undergraduate Open Day, should be directed to the Faculty Office.

Address: Theology and Religion Faculty Centre, 34 St Giles,
Oxford OX1 3LD.
Telephone: +44 (0)1865 270790
Fax: +44 (0)1865 270795
E-mail: general.administrator@theology.ox.ac.uk

Enquiries about graduate admissions should
be directed to the Faculty's Graduate Studies Administrator.

Address: Theology and Religion Faculty Centre, 34 St Giles,
Oxford OX1 3LD.
Telephone: +44 (0)1865 270714
Fax: +44 (0)1865 270795
E-mail: graduate.enquiries@theology.ox.ac.uk

Enquiries about undergraduate admissions should be directed to the Undergraduate Admissions Office.

Address: Undergraduate Admissions Office, University Offices,
Wellington Square, Oxford OX1 2JD.
Telephone: +44 (0)1865 288000
Fax: +44 (0)1865 280125
E-mail: undergraduate.admissions@admin.ox.ac.uk

Enquiries about Higher Education advice should be directed to Schools Liaison.

Address: Theology and Religion Faculty Centre, 34 St Giles,
Oxford OX1 3LD.
Telephone: +44 (0)1865 282353
E-mail: schools.liaison@theology.ox.ac.uk