Theology Faculty Members List

Oxford skyline


There are more than 100 members of the Faculty, some of whom hold University and college posts, and some college-only posts. Use the filters below to browse our directory.

The following are Faculty members filtered by subject "History, Doctrine and Ethics":

View Faculty Members (or view Administrative staff):
By Subject | University Professors & Lecturers | Senior Positions of Responsibility | Show All

View By Subject:
Old Testament | New Testament | History, Doctrine and Ethics | Study of Religions | Show All

Dr Pamela Anderson

Regent's Park College
Reader in Philosophy of Religion
Phone: 01865 288135
Email: pamela.anderson@theology.ox.ac.uk

Dr Sarah Apetrei

Keble College
Departmental Lecturer in Ecclesiastical History
Schools Liaison Officer
Phone:
01865 270763
Email: sarah.apetrei@theology.ox.ac.uk
schools.liaison@theology.ox.ac.uk

Dr Jonathan Arnold

Worcester College
Phone: 01865 278371
Email: jonathan.arnold@theology.ox.ac.uk

Dr Andrew Atherstone

Wycliffe Hall
Tutor in History and Doctrine, and Latimer Research Fellow
Phone: 01865 274200
Email: andrew.atherstone@theology.ox.ac.uk

Dr Jane Baun

St Benet's Hall
University Research Lecturer
Phone:
01865 278415
Email: jane.baun@theology.ox.ac.uk

Dr Grant Bayliss

Ripon College Cuddesdon
Associate Faculty Member
Phone:
01865 877424
Email: grant.bayliss@rcc.ac.uk

Prof. Nigel Biggar

Christ Church
Regius Professor of Moral and Pastoral Theology
Phone:
01865 276219
Email: nigel.biggar@theology.ox.ac.uk

Dr Myra Blyth

Regent's Park College
Fellow and Chaplain and Tutor in Liturgy and Pastoral Theology
Phone:
01865 288140
Email: myra.blyth@theology.ox.ac.uk

Prof Markus Bockmuehl

Keble College
University Lecturer in New Testament
Phone:
01865 272791
Email: markus.bockmuehl@theology.ox.ac.uk

Dr Timothy Bradshaw

Regent's Park College
University Research Lecturer
Phone:
01865 288136
Email: timothy.bradshaw@theology.ox.ac.uk

Professor John Briggs

Regent's Park College
Phone: 01865 288140
Email: john.briggs@regents.ox.ac.uk

Prof. Dame Averil Cameron

Keble College
Former Professor of Late Antique and Byzantine History and former Warden, Keble College
Phone: 01865 280087
Email: averil.cameron@keble.ox.ac.uk

Dr Elizabeth (Liz) Carmichael

St John's College
Phone: 01865 277351
Email: liz.carmichael@theology.ox.ac.uk

Dr William Carroll

Blackfriars
Phone: 07865 278441
Email: william.carroll@theology.ox.ac.uk

Dr Mark D. Chapman

Ripon College Cuddesdon
Reader in Modern Theology
Phone: 01865 877405
Email: mark.chapman@rcc.ac.uk

Anthony Clarke

Regent's Park College
Phone: 01865 288144
Email: anthony.clarke@theology.ox.ac.uk

Dr Richard Conrad

Blackfriars
Phone: 01865 278437
Email: richard.conrad@theology.ox.ac.uk

Dr Jennifer Cooper

Campion Hall
Phone: 01865 280556
Email: jennifer.cooper@theology.ox.ac.uk

Dr Anthony R. Cross

Faculty of Theology and Religion
Phone: 88291
Email: anthony.cross@regents.ox.ac.uk

Dr Allan Doig

Lady Margaret Hall
Phone: 01865 274386
Email: allan.doig@lmh.ox.ac.uk

Dr H. D. Dupree

Balliol College
Phone: 01865 277716
Email: douglas.dupree@balliol.ox.ac.uk

Dr Mark Edwards

Christ Church
Associate Professor in Patristics
Phone: 01865 276216
Email: mark.edwards@theology.ox.ac.uk

Dr Robert Ellis

Regent's Park College
Phone: 01865 288137
Email: robert.ellis@theology.ox.ac.uk

Damian Feeney

St Stephen's House  
Phone: 01865 613515
Email: damian.feeney@ssho.ox.ac.uk

Prof. Paul Fiddes

Regent's Park College
Professor of Systematic Theology
Phone: 01865 288120
Email: paul.fiddes@theology.ox.ac.uk

Dr Richard Finn

Blackfriars
Phone: 01865 278431
Email: richard.finn@theology.ox.ac.uk

Prof. Sarah Foot

Christ Church
Regius Professor of Ecclesiastical History
Phone: 01865 286078
Email: chairman@theology.ox.ac.uk
          sarah.foot@theology.ox.ac.uk

Dr Simon Gaine

Blackfriars
Phone: 01865 278405
Email: simon.gaine@theology.ox.ac.uk

Dr Brandon Gallaher

Regent's Park College
British Academy Postdoctoral Fellow
Phone:
Email: brandon.gallaher@regents.ox.ac.uk

Lucy Gardner

St Stephen's House
Associate Faculty Member
Email: lucy.gardner@theology.ox.ac.uk


Dr Robin Gibbons

Department for Continuing Education
Phone: 01865 280890
Email: robin.gibbons@regents.ox.ac.uk

Ms Rachel Greene

University Church
Phone: 07411 895588
Email: rachel.greene@theology.ox.ac.uk

Dr Susan B Griffith

Wolfson College
susan.griffith@theology.ox.ac.uk

Dr Peter Groves

Faculty of Theology and Religion
Phone: 01865 247836
Email: peter.groves@theology.ox.ac.uk

Dr Daphne Hampson

Faculty of Theology and Religion
Associate Faculty Member
Phone: 01865 375787
Email: daphne.hampson@theology.ox.ac.uk 

Dr Shaun Henson

St Hugh's College
Phone: 01865 274955
Email: shaun.henson@theology.ox.ac.uk

Dr David Heywood

Ripon College Cuddesdon
Associate Faculty Member
Phone:

Email: david.heywood@theology.ox.ac.uk

 

Dr Elizabeth Hoare

Wycliffe Hall
Tutor in Prayer and Pastoral Studies
Phone: 01865 274208
Email: liz.hoare@wycliffe.ox.ac.uk

Prof. Joshua Hordern

Harris Manchester College 
Associate Professor of Christian Ethics
Coordinator of the Postgraduate Diploma in Theology
Phone:
01865 281479
Email: joshua.hordern@theology.ox.ac.uk

Professor Werner Jeanrond

Master of St Benet's Hall
St Benet’s Hall
Phone: 01865 280555  
Email: werner.jeanrond@theology.ox.ac.uk

Dr Simon Jones

Merton College
Phone: 01865 276365
Email: simon.jones@theology.ox.ac.uk

Dr Philip Kennedy

Mansfield College
Phone: 01865 280084
Email: philip.kennedy@theology.ox.ac.uk

Dr Ian Ker

Blackfriars
Phone: 01993 823 219
Email: ian.ker@theology.ox.ac.uk

Dr Matthew Kirkpatrick

Wycliffe Hall
Phone: 01865 274592
Email: matthew.kirkpatrick@theology.ox.ac.uk

Dr Julia Konstantinovsky

Wolfson College
Phone:
Email: julia.konstantinovsky@theology.ox.ac.uk

Dr Dave Leal

Brasenose College
Phone: 01865 287388
Email: dave.leal@theology.ox.ac.uk

Prof. Brian Leftow

Oriel College
Nolloth Professor of the Philosophy of the Christian Religion
Phone: 01865 276590
Email: brian.leftow@oriel.ox.ac.uk

Dr Andrew Linzey

The Oxford Centre for Animal Ethics
Phone: 01865 201565
Email: andrew.linzey@theology.ox.ac.uk

Dr Michael Lloyd

Wycliffe College
Associate Faculty Member
Phone:  01865 274209
Email: michael.lloyd@wycliffe.ox.ac.uk

Dr Philip Lockley

Trinity College
British Academy Post-Doctoral Fellow
Phone: 01865 280723
Email: philip.lockley@theology.ox.ac.uk

Prof. Diarmaid MacCulloch

St Cross College
University Lecturer
Phone: 01865 270794
Email: diarmaid.macculloch@theology.ox.ac.uk

Dr Judith Maltby

Corpus Christi College
Reader in Church History
Phone: 01865 276722
Email: judith.maltby@ccc.ox.ac.uk

Dr Tim Mawson

St Peter's College
Phone: 01865 278949
Email: tim.mawson@theology.ox.ac.uk

Prof. H. M. R. E. Mayr-Harting (Emeritus)

St Peter's College
Phone:
Email: henry.mayr-harting@theology.ox.ac.uk

Prof Alister McGrath

Harris Manchester
Andreas Idreos Professor of Science and Religion
Phone:

Email: alister.mcgrath@hmc.ox.ac.uk

Dr Charlotte Methuen

Ripon College Cuddesdon
Phone: 0141 330 2501 
Email: charlotte.methuen@theology.ox.ac.uk

Dr Andrew Moore

Regent's Park College
Email: andrew.moore@theology.ox.ac.uk

Mr David Neaum

University Church
Phone:
Email: david.neaum@theology.ox.ac.uk

Dr Louise Nelstrop

Regent's Park College
Junior Research Fellow
Phone:
01865 288121
Email: louise.nelstrop@theology.ox.ac.uk

Dr Martyn Percy

Ripon College Cuddesdon
Phone: 01865 874404
Email: mpercy@ripon-cuddesdon.ac.uk

Dr Stephen Pickard

Ripon College Cuddesdon
Associate Faculty Member
Phone:

Email: stephen.pickard@theology.ox.ac.uk

 

Dr Andrew Pinsent

Ian Ramsey Centre
Phone: 01865 274548
Email: andrew.pinsent@theology.ox.ac.uk

Prof. Joel Rasmussen

Mansfield College
Associate Professor in Nineteenth-Century Christian Thought
Phone: 01865 282917
Email: joel.rasmussen@theology.ox.ac.uk

Dr Stan Rosenberg

Wycliffe Hall
Phone: 01865 203045
Email: stan.rosenberg@theology.ox.ac.uk

Dr Alistair Ross

Kellogg College
Associate Faculty Member
Phone: 01865 270384
Email: alistair.ross@conted.ox.ac.uk

Dr Catherine Ross

Regents Park College
Phone: 
Email: catherine.ross@theology.ox.ac.uk

Mr John N Saward

Blackfriars
Phone:
Email: john.saward@bfriars.ox.ac.uk

Dr Lydia Schumacher

Oriel College
British Academy postdoctoral fellow

Joana Serrado

Faculty of Theology and Religion
Gordon Milburn Research Fellow
Phone:  01865 284080
Email: joana.serrado@theology.ox.ac.uk

Dr Jane Shaw

New College
Visiting Research Fellow
Phone: 01865 279541
Email: jane.shaw@history.ox.ac.uk

Dr Nicolai Sinai

Faculty of Oriental Studies
Associate Faculty Member
Phone: 01865 278293
Email: nicolai.sinai@orinst.ox.ac.uk

Prof. Katherine Southwood

St. John's College
Associate Professor
Phone: 01865 277394
Email: katherine.southwood@theology.ox.ac.uk

Dr Casey Strine

Oriel College
Associate Faculty Member
Phone:
Email: casey.strine@theology.ox.ac.uk

Prof. Richard Swinburne

Oriel College
Associate Faculty Member
Email:
richard.swinburne@oriel.ox.ac.uk


Dr David Taylor

Faculty of Oriental Studies
Phone: 01865 274109
Email: david.taylor@orinst.ox.ac.uk

Dr Andrew Teal

Pembroke College
Phone: 01865 286276
Email: andrew.teal@theology.ox.ac.uk

Dr Robert Tobin

Oriel College
Phone: 01865 276580 robert.tobin@oriel.ox.ac.uk
Email: robert.tobin@oriel.ox.ac.uk

Dr Phillip Tovey

Ripon College Cuddesdon
Associate Faculty Member
Phone: 01235 527077 
Email: phillip.tovey@oxford.anglican.org

Dr Richard Turnbull

Associate Faculty Member
Phone:

Email: richard.turnbull@theology.ox.ac.uk

Dr Vince Vitale

Wycliffe Hall
Tutor in Philosophy and Mission, Wycliffe Hall
Phone:

Email: vincent.vitale@theology.ox.ac.uk

Dr Ralph Waller

Harris Manchester College
Phone: 01865 271008
Email: ralph.waller@hmc.ox.ac.uk

Dr Robin Ward

St Stephen's House
Phone: 01865 613510
Email: robin.ward@theology.ox.ac.uk

Dr Michael Ward

Blackfriars Hall

Associate Faculty Member
Phone: 01865 771299
Email: michael.ward2@theology.ox.ac.uk

Professor Graham Ward

Christ Church
Regius Professor of Divinity
Phone:
Email: graham.ward@theology.ox.ac.uk

Dr Kalistos Ware

Faculty of Theology and Religion
Associate Faculty Member
Email: kallistos.ware@theology.ox.ac.uk


Prof. Jan Westerhoff

Lady Margaret Hall
Associate Professor in Religious Ethics
Phone: 01865 274261
Email: jan.westerhoff@theology.ox.ac.uk

 

 

 

Dr Margaret Whipp

Ripon College Cuddesdon
Associate Faculty Member
Phone: 
Email: margaretwhipp@btinternet.com

Trevor Williams

Trinity College
Phone: 01865 553975
Email: trevor.williams@theology.ox.ac.uk

Dr Judith Wolfe

St John's College
Coordinator of Graduate Professional Development
Phone: 01865 280067
Email: judith.wolfe@theology.ox.ac.uk

Prof. William Wood

Oriel College
CUF Lecturer
Phone: 01865 276285
Email: william.wood@theology.ox.ac.uk

Mr Hugh Wybrew

Faculty of Theology and Religion
Associate Faculty Member
Email: hugh.wybrew@theology.ox.ac.uk


Dr Margaret Yee

St Cross College
Phone: 01865 790221
Email: margaret.yee@stx.ox.ac.uk

Prof. Johannes Zachhuber

Trinity College
Reader in Theology
Phone: 01865 279882
Email: johannes.zachhuber@theology.ox.ac.uk

Dr Simeon Zahl

St John's College
Email: simeon.zahl@theology.ox.ac.uk


 

contact us »

General enquiries, including enquiries about the Faculty's annual Undergraduate Open Day, should be directed to the Faculty Office.

Address: Theology and Religion Faculty Centre, 34 St Giles,
Oxford OX1 3LD.
Telephone: +44 (0)1865 270790
Fax: +44 (0)1865 270795
E-mail: general.administrator@theology.ox.ac.uk

Enquiries about graduate admissions should
be directed to the Faculty's Graduate Studies Administrator.

Address: Theology and Religion Faculty Centre, 34 St Giles,
Oxford OX1 3LD.
Telephone: +44 (0)1865 270714
Fax: +44 (0)1865 270795
E-mail: graduate.enquiries@theology.ox.ac.uk

Enquiries about undergraduate admissions should be directed to the Undergraduate Admissions Office.

Address: Undergraduate Admissions Office, University Offices,
Wellington Square, Oxford OX1 2JD.
Telephone: +44 (0)1865 288000
Fax: +44 (0)1865 280125
E-mail: undergraduate.admissions@admin.ox.ac.uk

Enquiries about Higher Education advice should be directed to Schools Liaison.

Address: Theology and Religion Faculty Centre, 34 St Giles,
Oxford OX1 3LD.
Telephone: +44 (0)1865 282353
E-mail: schools.liaison@theology.ox.ac.uk