About the Faculty

Theology is one of the oldest faculties in this ancient University. One of the first courses of lectures given at Oxford was in Theology, over 800 years ago. Alexander Neckham, from St Albans, is recorded as giving biblical and moral lectures as early as 1193, on the Psalms of David and the Wisdom of Solomon. One of the first major University buildings (still intact and recently described as ‘the loveliest room in England') was the Divinity School, which was begun in 1423 to cater for Theology lectures. So we have a long history behind us, of which Oxford's beautiful setting and many historic buildings remind us.

Nevertheless, we are very much aware that present and future success cannot rest on past achievements. Recent developments include our work in the Study of Religion and in the major religious traditions of the world, and also our exploration of the interface between science and religion.

At the heart of the Faculty of Theology and Religion are those who hold full-time permanent positions and who have a particular responsibility for teaching, research and the delivery of the syllabus, as well as academic leadership. These University postholders number 23 in all; they are Professors and University Lecturers. Each is attached to a College: some have greater responsibilities to undergraduates, and others to graduates. But the Faculty is further enriched by its 100 or so other members; they include research fellows and College chaplains, lecturers and tutors, and they are involved in teaching, largely through tutorials. The particular subject areas, faculty responsibilities and research interests of the University postholders and other Faculty members may be seen on the Faculty page. If you are interested in obtaining more information about individual Colleges, you can do this through accessing Colleges via the University Home Page.

There are various Research Centres within the Faculty: The Ian Ramsey Centre for Science and Religion, the Centre for the Reception History of the Bible, the Centre for the Study of Theology and Modern European Thought, and the McDonald Centre for Theology, Ethics and Public Life. There are also Recognized Independent Centres: the Oxford Centre for Hebrew and Jewish Studies, the Oxford Centre for Islamic Studies, the Oxford Centre for Hindu Studies, and the Oxford Centre for Buddhist Studies.


contact us »

General enquiries, including enquiries about the Faculty's annual Undergraduate Open Day, should be directed to the Faculty Office.

Address: Theology and Religion Faculty Centre, 34 St Giles,
Oxford OX1 3LD.
Telephone: +44 (0)1865 270790
Fax: +44 (0)1865 270795
E-mail: general.administrator@theology.ox.ac.uk

Enquiries about graduate admissions should
be directed to the Faculty's Graduate Studies Administrator.

Address: Theology and Religion Faculty Centre, 34 St Giles,
Oxford OX1 3LD.
Telephone: +44 (0)1865 270714
Fax: +44 (0)1865 270795
E-mail: graduate.enquiries@theology.ox.ac.uk

Enquiries about undergraduate admissions should be directed to the Undergraduate Admissions Office.

Address: Undergraduate Admissions Office, University Offices,
Wellington Square, Oxford OX1 2JD.
Telephone: +44 (0)1865 288000
Fax: +44 (0)1865 280125
E-mail: undergraduate.admissions@admin.ox.ac.uk

Enquiries about Higher Education advice should be directed to Schools Liaison.

Address: Theology and Religion Faculty Centre, 34 St Giles,
Oxford OX1 3LD.
Telephone: +44 (0)1865 282353
E-mail: schools.liaison@theology.ox.ac.uk